Pinprick

The needle in my hand is steady. Its gleaming tip is a mere half-inch from the pinched fat of my stomach, and my hand is holding still. Inside my head, there is nothing but the quietness of a centered and satisfied soul. Without any conscious measure of readiness, my fingers smoothly extend, pushing the tip of the needle through my skin and into the subcutaneous layer, as if the very cells that make me up were just as ready as my mind. I can vaguely hear the clinician say something encouraging as I begin to push the plunger down and administer the liquid Depo-Testosterone, but he means nothing in this moment. There is just me and this pinprick. Perhaps my whole life has been a series of pinpricks in various forms, but this one…this one is the promise of a future that, for the first time, feels entirely mine.

_________________________________________________________________

November 1st, 2013, a Friday, around 7:15PM, is the day that I, Von Muinin Scully, took control of the life that I was dealt at birth. I am 23 years old and over the past four years, I have undergone a complete gender transition from the little girl that I was, to the man that I will be until the day I die.

I have begun this blog, Tra(n)veling Man, to act as a one-stop-shop of sorts. I want to create a place that offers resources for all things Trans*. They say that every expert was once a beginner, and I believe that this sentiment is amplified when it comes to something as intimate and personal as a gender transition. I want nothing more than to be able to be the resource of information that I wish I had had when I began my journey. Here, I intend to act as a dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, advice columnist, shopping adviser, and travel agent. It may be ambitious, but I am passionately in love with the human race. If I can help one person out there struggling with understanding who they (or a loved one) are, then I have done enough.

This blog is not meant for only Trans* identifying people! Here is a space that is welcoming to people of EVERY identity. The path to acceptance is laid with bricks of respect and compassion. My personal philosophy is to greet every person with an open mind and to answer all questions, so that other Trans* individuals will not need to in the future.

This is where the disclaimer comes in:

I am not a licensed professional in psychology, psychiatry, etc. I am not a doctor, a surgeon, or nurse. I am simply a transgender human being who has experienced what it means to mentally, physically, and socially transition from one gender to another. This entire project is meant as a source of personal advice and information based in research and personal experience, nothing more.

I am determined to be an open book when it comes to my physical body, mind, etc., but this is a place where respect is demanded. I share what I want, when I want, because I am comfortable doing so. You should NEVER assume that a person wants to reveal this level of intimate detail to you. I am happy to explain my intimate life, so that others do not have to. I believe that by allowing people to see behind the scenes, the world can truly start to appreciate the person they see on stage for nothing more than who they are.

So, my friend, welcome to the world of the Tra(n)veling Man. Listen, Learn, Love, and walk in Balance.

With all my love,

Von Muinin Scully

Leave a Reply

